North bihar district name list

Introduction to North Bihar Districts

North Bihar is a region encompassing several districts in the northern part of Bihar state in India. This area contains some of the most populous and historically significant districts in Bihar. In this article, we will provide an overview of the districts located in North Bihar.

North bihar district name list

  • Araria
  • Arwal
  • Banka
  • Begusarai
  • Bhagalpur
  • Darbhanga
  • East Champaran (Motihari)
  • Katihar
  • Khagaria
  • Kishanganj
  • Lakhisarai
  • Madhepura
  • Madhubani
  • Muzaffarpur
  • Purnia
  • Saharsa
  • Samastipur
  • Sitamarhi

There are 18 districts considered part of North Bihar. The full list of north Bihar districts is as follows:

Divisions of Bihar
Divisions of Bihar

This covers the key districts located in the north Bihar region.

North bihar district name list in hindi

For Hindi speakers, here are the district names of north Bihar written in Devanagari script:

  • अररिया
  • अरवल
  • बांका
  • बेगूसराय
  • भागलपुर
  • दरभंगा
  • पूर्वी चंपारण
  • कटिहार
  • खगड़िया
  • किशनगंज
  • लखीसराय
  • मधेपुरा
  • मधुबनी
  • मुजफ्फरपुर
  • पूर्णिया
  • सहरसा
  • समस्तीपुर
  • सीतामढ़ी

North east bihar district name list

The districts located in northeast Bihar specifically are:

  • Araria
  • Katihar
  • Kishanganj
  • Purnia

These four districts border West Bengal and Bangladesh, making up the northeast corner of Bihar state.

How many districts in north bihar

As listed previously, there are 18 districts that make up the geographical region classified as north Bihar.

See also  Panchayat Samitis || Functions of panchayat samiti

South Bihar Districts

In contrast to the northern part of the state, south Bihar contains 19 districts, including:

south bihar district name list

  • Aurangabad
  • Bhojpur
  • Buxar
  • Gaya
  • Jehanabad
  • Kaimur
  • Munger
  • Nalanda
  • Nawada
  • Patna
  • Rohtas
  • Saran
  • Sheikhpura
  • Siwan
  • Supaul
  • Vaishali
  • Jamui
  • Lakhisarai
  • Khagaria This covers the key districts in the southern part of Bihar state.

Bihar map district name

Maps clearly labeling each district across the entire state of Bihar are widely available online. Referencing an up-to-date map can make it easier to place where specific districts are located within the north or south regions.

West bihar district name list

The districts located along Bihar’s western border with Uttar Pradesh include:

  • East Champaran (Motihari)
  • Gopalganj
  • Saran
  • Siwan
  • West Champaran (Bettiah)


In summary, North Bihar contains 18 key districts, with 4 districts clustered in the northeast corner. South Bihar encompasses 19 districts extending to the southern borders with Jharkhand and West Bengal. Keeping this district name list and map handy can help characterize what part of Bihar a city or town is located within.

By Annu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *